Unexpected Great Day

I was thinking that yesterday was going to be a great day.  I was planning to take the kids to the beach and had invited several friends to join us for a day of sun, sand and splashing.  Beach day is about my most favorite way to spend the day, and I cherish those summer-fun days.

When I woke up, however, clouds filled the sky (what the heck, weather forecasters??) and it was feeling a little chilly for the beach.  Then I checked email and learned that some of our beach-buddies were not able to make it.  Sigh.  Looks like beach day isn’t meant to be for today.

So, we decided that a play-at-home day would be the substitute plan.  Late morning, the kids were playing outside.  Then the neighbors on one side (2 boys) came out to play with them.  Then the neighbors on the other side came out (2 more boys).  I texted a couple of my son’s classmates and invited them to join us.  By 1:00pm, there were 8 boys ages 5-7 and my daughter playing in our yard.

One of the moms hung out to chat with me, and it turned out to be a great day.  Some of the highlights:

  • Shoe-ball:  The boys were playing kickball, and when they would kick, their shoe would fly off and everyone would laugh.
  • Wisconsin Firecrackers:  This was the name of their kickball team.
  • Water stand:  My daughter took the pitcher of water and set up shop at the picnic table.  She loves a good tea party.
  • Race track: One of the boys drew a chalk track on the driveway for the bike riders.

This is the mom that I want to be.  The one with the yard full of kids being kids and making memories and laughing and thinking how fun it is to play at our house.  What I thought was going to be a great beach day (then I thought was going to be a quiet stay home day) turned into quite a party day.

I love when that happens.

The Wisconsin Firecrackers 🙂

About I Love Me Mom

Jill Baake is a Certified Life Coach specializing in helping people create more joy in their lives. With a focus on self love, personal power and the Law of Attraction, Jill gives clients the opportunity to learn about themselves, think from new perspectives and take full responsibility for their experiences. In addition, Jill co-founded and manages a wellness center known as The Atrium at Rolling Spirit and is the author of I Love Me Mom. Learn more by visiting www.centerspiritcoaching.com.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

