“Have a super, terrific, fantastic…

… wonderful, amazing day!”  That’s what I tell my kids everyday when I’m kissing them good-bye in the morning for kindergarten and preschool.  It’s very cute to hear Rylan say it in her 3-year-old voice, and fun to watch Nathan (age 6) waiting patiently for me to complete the lengthy request.

Today when I dropped Rylan off at preschool, we went through our routine and off she went to go play.  No tears.  No labored good-bye.  No need to promise that I’d be back soon.  No request for one more hug.  She just joyfully skipped off to start her day.  She’s a confident, happy, independent little girl.  The teacher gave me a bit of a bewildered look as I stood for a minute and admired my sweet daughter.

As I got in the car, my heart felt heavy.  I was a little sad that my little peanut was so content to leave me.  Granted, I don’t want a big good-bye scene, but a small piece of me wanted to go back in and scoop her up and keep her for myself.  I felt a little jealous that her teachers and friends get to enjoy her all day.

Then I realized that I wasn’t really feeling sadness.  I was really feeling gigantic love.  The heaviness in my chest was the feeling of bursting at the seams affection and connection to my precious daughter.  I simply adore her and was feeling so proud of her happy, confident, independent little self.

That morning shot of love beats out any stimulant out there.  Spending the day with that feeling has been a super, terrific, fantastic, wonderful, amazing way to spend the day.  And tomorrow, when I do get to keep her to myself, I am excited for more super, terrific, fantastic, wonderful, amazing fun.

What will you do to make it a super, terrific, fantastic, wonderful, amazing day in your life?

About I Love Me Mom

Jill Baake is a Certified Life Coach specializing in helping people create more joy in their lives. With a focus on self love, personal power and the Law of Attraction, Jill gives clients the opportunity to learn about themselves, think from new perspectives and take full responsibility for their experiences. In addition, Jill co-founded and manages a wellness center known as The Atrium at Rolling Spirit and is the author of I Love Me Mom. Learn more by visiting www.centerspiritcoaching.com.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Life Coaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

