Welcome Babycenter Friends!

When I got pregnant with my son, Nathan, I joined Babycenter.com and began reading the message boards.  My favorite quickly became the Bargain Hunters board because of the randomness and drama it encompassed.  I’ve been reading that board almost daily for years, but really never posted.  Honestly, I was afraid.  These women can be brutal!  Fun when it’s directed at others, scary when it might be coming at me!

So, with the launch of the book, it seemed like a good idea to tap into this gigantic pool of moms.  A few days ago, I posted about the book.  The post lasted about an hour, and then got deleted by the powers that be, because you’re not allowed to promote or sell stuff on the boards.  I did actually sell one book in that time… Hooray!  (Funny side note:  I was so excited to have made a non-local sale and was already planning my Facebook celebration.  Then I got the paypal notice, and the mom is in Wisconsin!  LOL! What are the odds?  I’m still waiting for that first out-of-state sale.)

Anyway, it still felt like a good idea to share I Love Me Mom with the Babycenter moms, so I changed my screen name to ilovememom, changed my avatar to the book cover image, and posted an introduction.  Another step in my journey of going public and shining my light.  I clicked “post”, and instantly felt sick.  Ugh.

Since the launch of my coaching business, I’ve experienced the reverb of emotion that going public brings multiple times.  I know that the step I’m taking is absolutely the right step, yet after the step is made, there is the near-panic feeling.  “OMG!  What have I done!”

Standing in your power and authentically telling the world “here I am” leaves you open to the feedback of the people you reach.  In that moment, everyone who receives that message is thinking about me and judging my “here I am”-ness.  Yikes!

For two days I’ve been posting on the board now, and my calm is returning.  I’m off the bench and on the field, and it’s not so scary anymore.  It certainly helps that I got a couple of compliments about the blog.  As much as I know that external validation is not the answer, it still feels good to hear nice things.

Welcome to the blog, Babycenter moms!  Thanks for stopping by and thank you for welcoming my latest step into my “here I am.”

I’d love to hear from you!  How about leaving a comment?

About I Love Me Mom

Jill Baake is a Certified Life Coach specializing in helping people create more joy in their lives. With a focus on self love, personal power and the Law of Attraction, Jill gives clients the opportunity to learn about themselves, think from new perspectives and take full responsibility for their experiences. In addition, Jill co-founded and manages a wellness center known as The Atrium at Rolling Spirit and is the author of I Love Me Mom. Learn more by visiting www.centerspiritcoaching.com.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Life Coaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome Babycenter Friends!

  1. Panda says:

    Hi! Its Stevie from BBC 🙂 What type of book are you writing?

    • Hi, Stevie! The book is called I Love Me Mom – A Guilt-Free Guide to Honoring Yourself and Empowering Your Kids. It’s written specifically for moms with the intention of helping them fall in love with themselves and set an example for their kids of personal power and self-care. There are a couple excerpts here on the blog, and you can learn more at http://www.ilovememom.com.

      The book is available for purchase now on the website and on Amazon. The Kindle and e-reader version will be available soon! I’m happy to answer questions about it if there’s anything else you’d like to know.

      Thanks for checking out the blog and for the comment!

Leave a Reply

